Doing the unthinkable

I made a decision earlier this week, I did the unthinkable. I decided to stay away from social media, not log on and get involved in conversations or forums, etc.

This came about after a couple of personal attacks, a few ‘debates’ where people just sucked the soul out of me and people in groups that made you wonder if they could tie their own laces or just wear slip ons as it’s easier.

The personal attacks were unnecessary and unwarranted, so I did what I haven’t done in so many years of social media and that is to unfriend and block both people, they were toxic in their nature. It is something I was always strongly against as to me everyone has the right to a voice, no matter the content. It just goes against the grain with me to cut someone out like that but I felt for the sake of my health and wellbeing, in the fragile state I once again found myself, it was the best course of action. I don’t need that toxicity and better off without it, learning that I am not responsible for their actions or attitudes.

I was admin on a forum and found myself just more and more at odds with the views of the members. In most cases, that’s one of those things that you put down to difference of opinions and moderate by the rules as set. Again, just feeling that I was so out of kilter with people and they were quite forceful with their opinions, I just felt the best course of action was to leave the group, let them get on with it themselves. I don’t want to be that guy in the corner that’s different but tolerated. Not my scene.

I took a rest from it this week and it has been quite liberating. I go on from time to time to make sure I’m not missing PMs from people and have a look in the background, but I don’t post or contribute. This means I don’t get embroiled in discussions, debates and stay away from potentially explosive situations.

Although I miss talking with decent folk, who are the majority, I don’t miss the others who can’t debate, go on the attack to defend their point (ironic) and generally just drag others down into the weeds. With the General Election being called, the armchair despots have come out telling everyone else what to think, how to vote and how inhuman they are for holding a different view.

I have my political side and quite clear in my views, I do try to stay respectful, listen to a differing opinion and explore the opinion, not simply attack it. You can get a heated debate without it being disrespectful or vitriolic but some do not know how. The politics of division we are seeing in the UK, as well as other parts of the world, are causing people to be really angry but they don’t know why, they just act out the anger on anyone who disagrees. There are people to be angry with but that’s a whole other debate, and they are unlikely to be on social media.

In short, staying away, doing other things, clearing my head has been a good thing this week and I will do the same next week too. I’ve a few podcasts, audiobooks and blogs to catch up on (Mindfump in particular and well worth a read), so I intend to do that this week coming, taking in different places, walks and cafes as I go. All food for the soul and adding to my recovery.

I really hope it works.

Be kind to yourself.

2 thoughts on “Doing the unthinkable

  1. Hey Richard, hope your new meds combination is now starting to make a positive difference. Your post seems a wee bit more upbeat than it has this last wee while. I think your right to take a step back and look in from the sidelines, from time to time. That way you don’t get affected by those who are struggling. There’s others there to help with that support. Time to be a wee bit selfish and get your own health back on track. Stay strong xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

