Sleep to recovery!

This week I have been feeling much better. My mood and motivation has been up, feeling a bit better about myself. Not sure if this is just the end of a depressive cycle, change in meds or a response to the kindness of others. May be a combination and whatever is the cause, I am thankful for it.

I wasn’t quite expecting to be so tired though. Sleep is often and deep, which surprises me, as a doze during the day is what normally gets me through. This is longer and a lot deeper than normal.

It’s not that I am doing a heck of a lot. Friday, went into town with Lady M, had lunch, fell asleep for a couple of hours. Yesterday, I took Rory to his football in the morning, watched a game when I got back (bloody wish I hadn’t bothered) and then had another sleep. When I go to bed, I’m sleeping deeply and well too.

I’m making the assumption that this is part of recovery, getting the body regenerated after expending a lot of energy in a depressive state. I do hope to get into normal patterns at some point and then can see about taking the next steps to regaining a normal life, whatever that hell that might be.

I remember reading in a book, one of those action types, that ‘sleep is a weapon’, therefore I must be well armed. But I’m not. I’m still tired in the main and a bit fragile, although not as volatile as I was previously, I suspect. Hopefully this is how recovery feels and I’m on the way up the road as this feels different, not so bleak just tired.

I hope everyone is enjoying their weekend. Bank holiday here which means I get everyone home for an extra day, which is lovely. Well, might be if the kids ever come out of the rooms they are hiding in at the moment. I think a family meal in front of a movie tonight is on the cards.

Be kind to yourself. There’s only one of you and you’re worth it.

2 thoughts on “Sleep to recovery!

  1. So glad to hear you are feeling better Richard… rest and Recouperate… sleep rests the mind xx

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

