Reality back with a bang

Had a great last couple of weeks with the family, away in the highlands relaxing in each others company and over this Easter weekend. Chilled out completely and thinking that the recovery was starting to do well.

My doctor and I decided to reduce the meds a couple of weeks ago and as expected, that left with a headache and feeling odd at times, irritable due to my body chemistry adapting to the new dose.

Then today – BAM! Three letters hit the floor which just drag you back into the mire. The most unexpected was that my car insurance was being cancelled as they hadn’t been able to confirm the no claims discount (NCD) and they were transferring to a new policy at double the cost with zero NCD. I went online, checked with another insurer who has accepted the self same document immediately, no issues.

The company now want £88 to cancel the policy, which I’ve refused to accept as there was no communication to prove the NCD. None. If you ever come across One Call Insurance in the UK, avoid like the plague due to my experience.

It’s been the way of things in the past three years. It has been a constant onslaught of hassle that persistently raises stress levels, keeps them bubbling at a high level and doesn’t relent.

I’ve been able to deal with it in previous years but has taken it’s toll to leave me in a state where I’m now ill and unable to deal with the most mundane of hassles. Recovery is a long road, with ups and downs but this relentless crap from a variety of sources, without logic in most cases is extremely wearing.

I really don’t know the answer to this or how it’s going to play out. I know that once again the feeling of being trapped and under siege is raising its head again, which I hoped would have been a thing of the past.

Sadly not.

I have no option but to go on and try to deal with it as best I can but once again, the walls are closing in on me.

So hard after a couple of weeks of real progress and relaxation.

4 thoughts on “Reality back with a bang

  1. You have to watch these insurance companies – scoundrels the lot of them! I take it as a challenge to reduce my costs yearly . . .difficult after two total losses in one year!
    I usually use the renewal from the previous company as proof of NCB, I presume you have also?
    Sounds like these twunts are just at the shallow end of the honesty pool.
    I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again.. .don’t let the bastards get you down.
    Much love,
    Gx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Challenges sent to try us Richard. Don’t let them get you down or set you back. Dust yourself down look at what you have in life by way of your beautiful wife and family and keep moving forward. Think of your wonderful holiday last week and try to block out the black times. You’ve been doing great recently . Keep moving forward. Your still the same guy we all love and care about xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

